Q: Who teaches the Texas Online LTC class?
A: The class is developed and lead by Joel Kuchenski. Joel is certificated and approved to instruct this course by Texas Department of Public Safety Handgun Licensing Division. He is also an experienced Texas law enforcement officer, which is one of the reason we partner with Joel.
Q: Are Texas online LTC classes really official?
A: Yes, in 2016 the Texas legislature passed HB 3784 allowing online LTC classes to fulfill the requirement for license to carry.
Q: Whats the difference between CHL and LTC?
A: License To Carry (LTC) is effectively a replacement for CHL (Concealed Handgun License).
Q: What’s the benefit of taking it online instead of in person?
A: The online class is entirely self paced, split into small bite-sized modules, we’ll track your progress so you can start and stop as you wish. It will also cost you less.
Q: I just want to learn about gun safety, can i take this class?
A: Yes, gun safety is an important component of the class. If gun safety is you only interest, you can take the class itself without any obligation to pursue a Texas License To Carry.
Q: Are there restrictions on who can take the class?
A: No, whether you buy the class for yourself or as a gift for a friend or family member, he or she will be able to take the class.
To get the completion certificate, you’ll need to have a state ID or state driving License that is American issued.
There are restrictions on who can thereafter apply for a License To Carry. These change from time to time, so we recommend checking the state website for the most current requirements.
Q: Is there there a minimum age to complete the class?
A: The LTC-101 certificate of completion is valid for 2 years if you are going to use to apply for a License To Carry here is Texas. At present you have to be 21 years of age to obtain a LTC. Therefore if you are 19 this class will provide you with the LTC-101 requirements part of your application.
If you have no intention of applying for a Texas LTC and just want to use this class as a gun safety tutorial, then there is no minimum age.
Q: How long is the class?
A: The class is 4 hours long and fulfills the state requirement duration for the LTC class.
Q: How long do I have to complete the class?
A: You have 6 months to complete, your progress is saved, you can start and stop at your leisure.
Q: I don’t live in Texas, can I still take the class?
A: Yes, there is no requirement to live in Texas to take this class. If you live outside of Texas you may benefit from applying for a non-resident License To Carry, though the competency part of your application has to be completed within the state of Texas.
Q: Can I use this class to apply for my LTC in a state other than Texas?
A: You should check with the state you intend to apply for a License To Carry in to see if they accept the Texas LTC-101 Certificate of Completion.
Q: Does this class fulfill the requirement to apply for a Virginia Non-Resident LTC?
A: You should check the Virginia Non-Resident requirements to confirm they will accept this class. You’ll want to hurry though, from January 1st 2021, Virginia will only accept in person classes.
Q: Do I need to be at a computer to take this class?
A: You can take this class wherever you like. You can use your phone, tablet or computer anywhere from at your desk to in a plane. We’ll track and save your progress.
Q: I finished the class what happens next?
A: We’ll provide you with your LTC certificate and you’ll be good to go and complete the proficiency demonstration with a local LTC instructor.
Q: How quickly do I have to complete my requirement for the LTC?
A: You’ll have 6 months to complete this class after purchase. After completing the class you’ll LTC-101 certificate will be valid for 2 years.
Q: Is there a test at the end of the class?
A: Yes, there is a 25 question quiz. It is multiple choice and our instructor says most are common sense. It is technically called a written examination, but you complete it online.
Q: I have an expired Texas LTC, do I have to take this class to renew it?
A: It depends, if a year has pass since your license expired you will need to take the class. If it has expired within a year you may be able to renew without having to take the LTC class.